WIP Monday

February 20, 2012 at 11:24 pm Leave a comment

WIP Monday….week three! That’s quite an accomplishment for me. I do have one finished project (a greeting card), and another, that actually is, a work in progress.

But first….here’s a picture of a few of the goodies that I’ve recently purchased:

Like I said yesterday, I’m really excited because I never buy online. There’s more….several digital collage sheets…but I don’t think it would be appropriate for me to post any of those images here. Hopefully, I’ll get creating…and you’ll see some of those images in future WIP Mondays 😉

So here’s the card I made….at the request of my daughter. She wanted to encourage and congratulate the daughter of one of her friends who had made the honor roll at a local secondary school:

I’ve also begun working on a project that’s been bouncing around in my head for awhile now. I’m going to alter a bank book. I have several closed bank books that belonged to my mother. They’re nice and sturdy, and I thought they’d make nice little journals 🙂 This is the first one. I covered the outside and inside covers with glossy cardstock and used several alcohol inks to add some color. I am experimenting with what to do next. I thought that I’d cover the front with a transparency and work from there. When I closed the book, I decided that I needed to make a binding. I like the sparkly ribbon, but the thread has to be redone. I don’t like it at all. Maybe I’ll pull the sparkly ribbon off and add a wider one (covering the holes) and put the turquoise ribbon back on. I guess that’s why they call it a WIP, right? Several of the inside pages have heavy duty mixed media paper attached. It’s my intention to put the techniques I learned in Traci Bautista’s online class (compliments of Strathmore) to use.

Thanks for stopping by…and until next time…..Peace.

Entry filed under: Altered, altered art, altered books, crafts, handmade greeting card, Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , .

It’s Sunday! Yup…it’s Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


