Christmas Eve is upon us!

December 24, 2011 at 1:38 am 1 comment

Christmas Eve was the most exciting day of the year for me, when I was a child. It always seemed to take forever to get here. As an adult…it’s the complete opposite! LOL… Am I ready? About as ready as I’ll ever be, I guess. This will be the first Christmas Eve spent at home in about 38 years. With my mother in law’s passing, our traditions are changing. We’ve always gone to my in-laws on Christmas Eve. No more. Instead, we’ll have dinner at our own house, and have my father in law over. Comfort food (or heart attack on a plate, if you prefer) will be served…homemade mac and cheese with steamed broccoli. The last few times I’ve made mac and cheese, I’ve changed up my boring recipe. Tomorrow’s mac and cheese will include crumbled bacon and diced tomato in the recipe. I’m going to make some corn bread too. That’ll be a first for me. Fresh fruit will be served for dessert…seeing that I have a huge plate of cookies left from my daughter’s and my bake-off at the beginning of the week.

My husband and I were out and about the other day, and I had the most delightful discovery…we rode past an undiscovered scrapbook store!!! Of course we turned around and went back! I told my husband that I only wanted to see what they had, and that I wouldn’t take long so that we could go about our business. After doing a happy dance from the car to the door of the store…I was thrilled to find that they stocked bottles of Distress Ink reinkers! Score! As a result of the small purchase…I was able to come home and start on a tim tag that I’ve been wanting to make for the last three years…lol. We have AC Moore, Michaels, and Hobby Lobby, along with one local scrapbook store, but they don’t carry the reinkers. I don’t like to shop online because I’m afraid of  hackers getting my credit card number. I know, I know,,,these sites are secure…but I still don’t trust them. Sooooo…the only place I’ve been able to acquire these reinkers is the stamp show down in Rhinebeck…and I didn’t buy more than a few. I needed a few more…lol.  The tim tag technique I’ve been wanting to make consists of making your own inkpad (using these reinkers) for a certain stamp. This is the result of my first attempt to do the technique:

  

For anyone reading this from the Capital District (Albany, NY)…the name of the newest scrapbook store is Paper Crafters Unlimited, and it’s located at 568 Columbia Turnpike in East .Greenbush. Their phone number is 518-512-5088 and website is here 

I only crafted two gifts this year…glass blocks with a Christmas-y theme for two of my nieces. The only difference between the two is the ribbon. I hope they like them.

 

As always, thanks for stopping by. I’d also like to wish you and yours, a very Merry Christmas! Until next time…..Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Brrrrrr December Challenge Winner Announced at the Altered Alice

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  December 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Merry Christmas to you too, Rett! Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by my blog. 🙂
    Angie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


