After the Tea Party

October 22, 2011 at 12:22 am 4 comments

I’m posting my Altered Alice piece a wee bit early, because I’ll be out of town this weekend. Big Headed Honky (my daughter) and I, along with Sin and Tonic and Isabella Bruisilini, are headed to Philadelphia for roller derby and a little educational history. Road trip!

Sooooooo….for this week’s inspiration, I added a page to my art journal. I wanted to give the impression that you would be seeing the Mad Hatter through a keyhole in a wooden door….so using Tim Holtz’s texture fade (woodgrain), I embossed the page by placing the woodgrain folder under the page, and embossing it with my Fiskars embossing tool. I then swiped my Vintage Photo  Distress pad up and down the page a few times so that you could see the woodgrain.  I used a white acrylic wash to tone it down a bit. The teapot and cup are freebies from the Graphics Fairy….and the characters are from IndigoBlu, of course! For the shiny/glitter option….I outlined the teapot with Distress Stickles and added shiny falling leaves along the right side of the page. I also accented various items with my Gelly Roll pens…both Stardust and Glaze. I threw several lines in the white space for future journaling.

One can only imagine what went on after the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party…eh?

Thanks for stopping by…until next time….Peace

Entry filed under: Altered Alice, Life in General. Tags: , .

It’s an Altered Alice Sunday Happy to be home

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  October 23, 2011 at 3:50 am

    I love all your Hatter pieces.
    Amazing design´s. Fantastic.

  • 2. Donna Mundinger  |  October 23, 2011 at 11:40 am

    OMG! FAbulous page, Retta! Great idea to add embossing and I love the tea set and stamps you’ve chose. Enjoy your road trip! xxD

  • 3. Lynne Phelps  |  October 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this page! The keyhole and woodgrain are fantastic, but my favorite part is the way you tucked the March Hare in amidst the tea things! LOVE that! And the Tweedles too for fun, it’s great! 🙂
    Have fun at the roller derby, good luck to your daughter’s team! What fun to be on a road trip, takes me back!

  • 4. Silvia(Barnie)  |  October 31, 2011 at 11:37 am

    That’s a wonderful page with great elements.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


