Columbus Day Weekend

October 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm 1 comment

What are you up to this weekend? We went for a ride to Vermont yesterday…hoping for some bright and beautiful foliage. Boy, were we sorely disappointed. Not sure what happened…I’m going to blame it on Irene. The weather was perfect, sunny and about 75 degrees.  A few roads were still closed, and the people are still trying to gut and rebuild their homes and businesses. We saw where houses were wiped off their foundations in Bennington, gone…nothing left…and many of the stores the  little Village of Wilmington were completely ruined. Hope reigns though, because there were tablesaws being put to use right there on the main drag. There weren’t as many leaf peepers on the road as I would have expected. I’m going to blame that on Irene too. Vermont is open for business….for instance, Weston, Vermont was hopping. The Vermont Country Store was my favorite stop. I did my part for the local economy, no problem. Check out their website…they offer a number of vintage items that I haven’t seen in years. Do you remember Fels-Naptha? How about “Gee, Your Hair Smells Terrific”? LOL I’m showing my age. We strolled through some of the shops and stopped for a root beer float…haven’t had one of those in years!  Sharing a few pictures:

         

 

It’s Sunday…that means you’re in for a treat, that is if you go over to the Altered Alice and see what Erin, Barbara and Sue have created for this week’s inspiration in honor of the Mad Hatter challenge. Awesomeness personified 🙂

Oh…I also have to toot my own horn…I’ve been published again in Altered Arts Magazine! There was a call for submissions a few months back…I think the theme was “Yellow Brick Road”. I immediately thought about the Wizard of Oz. I altered a tin, and submitted my project. I heard back that Altered Arts was interested in publishing it in their Fall Issue. That in itself made my day…but imagine my surprise when I received my online copy, and saw that my project was on the cover! Holy moly! I was tickled pink 🙂

Here’s the project I submitted:

Thanks for stopping by…until next time….Peace.

Entry filed under: Life in General.

Here and There What a Difference a Few Days Makes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Donna Mundinger  |  October 10, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    FABULOUS! A huge congrats! xxD

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


