Altered Alice – Chapter 7

September 4, 2011 at 9:13 am 7 comments

 

Alice didn’t dare to argue the point, but went on: `– and I thought I’d try and find my way to the top of that hill — ‘ `When you say “hill,”‘ the Queen interrupted, `I could show you hills, in comparison with which you’d call that a valley.’ `No, I shouldn’t,’ said Alice, surprised into contradicting her at last: `a hill can’t be a valley, you know. That would be nonsense — ‘ The Red Queen shook her head, `You may call it “nonsense” if you like,’ she said, ` but I’ve heard nonsense, compared with which that would be as sensible as a dictionary!’ — Chapter 2, Through The Looking Glass and What Alice Found There

Using text as pattern is a trend right now that I really love. Your challenge is to use text as nonsense – not to read but as pattern on your project! Of course you can still have words or sentiments, but we also need to see text used in a non-reading way. I have a stack of old books and dictionaries that I use for this purpose.


Our sponsor is Stamp Attack, a British company that is well known (among other things) for their fantastic Alice stamp plates which have sold to customers all over the world. In fact, Helena Bonham Carter, the actress who played the Red Queen in the Tim Burton Alice movie, purchased sets of Alice stamps from Stamp Attack, which were then delivered to the studio!  Enabler alert: Stamp Attack offers speedy worldwide shipping for only £1 on unmounted stamp orders, so go on and check out their beautiful stamps!

The winner will receive a Stamp Attack gift certificate for £13.50, which is equivalent to one of the stamp plates that the design team will be using!     <——Sa-weet!

You have until Friday, September 23 to enter your creation and the winner and honorable mentions will be announced on the last Sunday of the month, September 25.  All kinds of projects are welcome, they do not have to be “altered art” and as always, entries that feature some aspect of Wonderland are given two chances instead of one in the random prize drawing. You may enter multiple times as long as each project is on a separate post.

So why not go on over to the Altered Alice and check out the Design Team inspiration! My piece is included this week 🙂 I call it: The House that Lewis Carroll Built. For those that do not know, Lewis Carroll is the author of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.  

The project is done on canvas board. You may notice that several of my pieces have been done on canvas boards.  They’re fun, versatile, and easy to cover up and start over….lol.

The background of my piece was created using several colors of Ranger Distress Ink. I have used a couple of stamps (inked with Archival Ink) on my piece to meet the requirement of this month’s challenge. My “wallpaper” is an Italian poetry stamp, the house itself was created using a stamp of a New York Central train ticket. The stairs are cut from patterned paper, and the clouds and windows from my stash of old letters/book pages picked up at a local garage sale.

All of the Alice characters are by Stamp Attack Art Stamps. I stamped all but the Cheshire Cat onto white cardstock, and colored with watercolor pencils before adhering them to my piece.

Hey, thanks for stopping by….and until next time….Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, Altered Alice, Giveaway, Life in General, mixed media. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Counting my Lucky Stars! Just because

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracy Evans  |  September 4, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Love your creation, very creative the house that Lewis built, great idea and wonderful use of the stamps. Tracy x

  • 2. Donna Mundinger  |  September 4, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I’m telling you Retta, this canvas is beyond FABULOUS! Every time I look at it I see another amazing detail. WOW, wow, WOW! I ADORE it! xxD

  • 3. Lynne Phelps  |  September 5, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Retta, I absolutely ADORE this piece and I am so in awe of your vision and the talent you have to bring that vision to life! Even more than the fabulous eye candy, you are inspiring me to stretch my wings a bit and I thank you for that most of all! I love, love, love The House that Lewis Carroll Built! 🙂

  • 4. Erin L  |  September 9, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    This so cool. I love how full of depth and dimension it is.

  • 5. Valeriana  |  September 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Totally lovely!!!

  • 6. Sandy  |  September 18, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Oh retty this is lovely.
    Amazing project.
    I love it.

  • 7. Silvia(Barnie)  |  September 22, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Fantastic piece of art with wonderful details.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


