Time is running out at the Altered Alice Challenge

August 21, 2011 at 11:20 am Leave a comment

 

‘A large rose-tree stood near the entrance of the garden: the roses growing on it were white, but there were three gardeners at it, busily painting them red. Alice thought this a very curious thing, and she went nearer to watch them, and just as she came up to them she heard one of them say, `Look out now, Five! Don’t go splashing paint over me like that!’  — Chapter 8, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland 

Here’s where you come in:

The club cards were painting the white roses red to avoid angering the Queen of Hearts, so your challenge, should you choose to accept it, is to use PAINT on your creation! Of course you can paint it RED like the design team will be doing, but you can also use other colors. You need to tell us what item was painted and what technique you used!

We are sponsored this month by Creative Inspirations [Store | Blog], makers of wonderful shimmering paint which comes in almost 60 colors, including clear iridescent Fairy Dust. They also carry hot fix Jeweled Inspirations and Metallic Inspirations; I am particularly intrigued by the latter as they look like brilliant nail heads. The Altered Alice design team will be using Garnet paint, a bright sparkling red, and I hope the Creative Inspirations design team might decide to play along! The winner of this month’s challenge will receive five colors of their choice.Be sure to enter by 11:59 p.m. EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, UTC -4:00) on Friday, August 26. The winner and honorable mentions will be announced the last Sunday of the month on August 28.

Today is the twenty first! So time is running out. Hop on over to the Altered Alice, and check out this week’s inspiration and all of the projects that have been submitted….good stuff!

This won’t be a long post, as time is running out for me too…ha! Our friends are coming over to the house today for a little Nascar/Crafting and dinner.  I need to prepare 🙂 Before I sign out though, I wanted to share a picture of  a gift and the cute little tag that I made for “preggie” friends of my daughter…she’s going to a baby shower today. I love to shrink wrap gifts 🙂 but I don’t like attaching the greeting card to a shrink wrapped gift…I think it takes away from the presentation…kwim? Anyway…I’ll share my little secret as to how I get around it: Shipping Tape. I find the perfect spot on the gift…and stick three or four strips of shipping tape to it (one on top of the other)…the width of the card…and carefully make a slit in the packing tape, wide enough to slip my card in. I figure that by using the shipping tape, and cutting the opening in that, the shrink wrap won’t rip open. Have a look see:

 

Cute, eh? Okay…I’ve got to run! Thanks for stopping by….until next time…..Peace

Entry filed under: Altered Alice, altered art, Life in General.

Heaven has another Angel Altered Alice Challenge Winner

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


