Heaven has another Angel

August 18, 2011 at 11:19 am Leave a comment

Arlene E. Toomey Skiff

 August 1922-May 2011

Today is my mother in law’s eighty ninth birthday. Unfortunately, Arlene passed away unexpectedly a few months ago, on May 31. Shock and stunned are two words that best express what those left behind are feeling. Twenty two days before her sixty fourth wedding anniversary, the good Lord called her home. At the time, Arlene was doing what she loved….she was with her husband at a local car cruise-in….enjoying the nice weather and the company of good friends. As the couple were getting ready to drive home from one of their weekly classic automobile get togethers, she told her husband that she “felt dizzy”, and in that instant, she was gone. We should all be so lucky. I believe that it was all her good, clean living that the Lord allowed her a smooth transition to the everafter. My mother in law was the best. A girl couldn’t have asked for a better one. Not once, did my mother in law tell me, or even suggest how I should raise my children. She never stuck her nose into my business. People knew her as a kind, cheerful, sweet woman…and she was, exactly that. Her family was her life. I owe her and her husband an unmeasurable debt of gratitude. After my son was born, I had a difficult time finding daycare for him and his big sister. As with most young couples, money was tight, childcare expensive and good quality daycare not easy to find. My mother in law volunteered to take over the duty and wouldn’t take monetary compensation for it. She was a lifesaver for me. I knew that my children were loved and well taken care of… and I didn’t have to worry one iota. I could never repay her for all the kindness she did.

Rest in Peace, dearest mother in law. You are sorely missed.

Love, Your favorite daughter in law 😉

Entry filed under: Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , .

I don’t have to put a title here if I don’t want to! Time is running out at the Altered Alice Challenge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


