Just touching base

July 15, 2011 at 1:48 pm 2 comments

Summer is happening in upstate NY. Yay! Tis the season for BBQ’s, picnics, concerts and nightime fires around the pit with friends and family. My sister and I recently went to a local historic cultural center for a concert. Each Wednesday, friends of the Pruyn House put on concerts at the site. This week was a local talent, Chelsea Cavanaugh, a 15 year old high school student with the sweetest voice. That’s whose picture is above. The main headliners were a local group of musicians, called Jade. They entertained the crowd with music from the 50’s and 60’s. Good stuff.

I snapped a few pictures, and thought I’d share:

The last two pictures are of a restored one room schoolhouse that was moved to the site several years ago. My husband tells me that when he was a wee lad, he went there for a short time! Interesting, eh?

Summertime also means going to softball games to watch my son play. There was a local tournament a few weeks ago that my son played in. His team advanced to the semi-final playoffs only because Junior hit a grand slam home run in the last inning of the game. Kudos to Garry Jr!!

 

When my son isn’t playing softball, he can usually be found mowing lawns. He recently took over a local business from the guy that he’s been working for, for the past few years. The man’s wife found a teaching job in Texas, and they packed up, lock, stock, and barrel, and relocated. Unfortunately, the woman hadn’t even been there a year, and the school district she worked for had budget cuts, and she got laid off. Isn’t that terrible??? I can’t even imagine what they’re going through.

On another note, I’ve been published in the online magazine called Altered Arts! This is the third time they’ve chosen one of my projects. The first time was their free Christmas 2010 edition. I submitted a few pictures of a Christmas themed shadowbox I had recently made:

I boasted about posted my second project a few months ago, which was included in the Altered Arts 2011 Winter edition. There was a call for an Alice in Wonderland entry.

The Summer 2011 edition includes my entry called Buddist Shrine:

In the Winter publication, there was a call for projects with a “Chinatown” theme. That’s what prompted me to create and submit.

Toot! Toot! Beep! Beep! It’s me in a model T! Until next time….Peace!

Entry filed under: Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Happy Belated Birthday, America! Sunday’s tidbits

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Mundinger  |  July 15, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    WooHoo on the pubs! sooo exciting! Fabulous work. Looks like you had a great time with your sis, too. xxD

  • 2. Lynne Phelps  |  July 17, 2011 at 12:30 am

    Congratulations on being published again! I am a huge fan of your work and it is gratifying to see others recognizing that! Love all the pictures of your Summer activities, and it was especially fun to see you being tooled around in that Model T like the Queen of Sheba, LOL! And how great that you have such an industrious son. You really live in a charming area, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


