The Altered Alice…Guest Designer

May 22, 2011 at 2:10 am 15 comments


A few posts back, I mentioned that I will be a guest designer over at the Altered Alice. Well, today is the day that my project will be used as inspiration for the monthly challenge. Here’s a little background info:
ALICE CHALLENGES: Challenges begin the first Sunday of the month with weekly inspiration posts from the design team. You can submit your link at the bottom of the Week 1 post for each challenge. Winner is announced on the last Sunday of the month, and submissions close on the Friday prior to that, 8 p.m. EST (GMT -5).

The Altered Alice is up to Chapter 4…and this how the challenge has been laid out:

Alice sighed wearily. `I think you might do something better with the time,’ she said, `than waste it in asking riddles that have no answers.’
`If you knew Time as well as I do,’ said the Hatter, `you wouldn’t talk about wasting IT. It’s HIM.’
`I don’t know what you mean,’ said Alice.
`Of course you don’t!’ the Hatter said, tossing his head contemptuously. `I dare say you never even spoke to Time!’
`Perhaps not,’ Alice cautiously replied: `but I know I have to beat time when I learn music.’
`Ah! that accounts for it,’ said the Hatter. `He won’t stand beating.’
–The preceeding is taken from Chapter 7, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Time marches on so it’s time for a new challege, and the challenge is to make something that represents TIME! Take your time, you have until May 27 at 8 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (GMT -4:00) to show us YOUR timely creation! There are so many ways to represent time – you could use a clock or a watch, hourglass, calendar. . . take some TIME to think about it and then be sure you submit on TIME because TIME flies! Ok, I think I have it out of my system. . . or is that my clockworks?

Our sponsor this month is Fresh Brewed Designs, and they have some fabulous Alice in Wonderland digi images that some of the design team will be using. The randomly chosen winner of this month's challenge will receive five digi stamps of their choice from the Fresh Brewed Designs store!

While it is not required that you use Alice in Wonderland images, we do encourage it. Entries that feature some aspect of Wonderland will be entered twice for the prize drawing!

My project is on a canvas board, and I’m calling it Tea Time. I printed out one of the digi stamps called Tick Tock in several different sizes, and randomly transferred the images using Gesso. I’ve never transferred images before, and although they didn’t quite come out the way I hoped they would….it worked just fine. I wanted a splash of color, so I added some watercolor crayon scribbles, and blended with a wet paintbrush. I used the “I’m Late” digi stamp also, printing and coloring it using good ‘ol Crayola crayons. I melted and blended the crayola colors by using my little craft iron to it. Here’s what it all looked like at this point:


At this point I added some acrylic paints and lots of embellishments. You may notice Alice’s time card,,,,and lots of number sixes…because 6 o’clock is tea time in Wonderland. The letters were distressed using Ranger Ink, and outlined using my white gel pen. To give the piece some depth, I shaded a few spots with my charcoal pencil. Here is the final project, along with a few close up views:


I had the desire to use another one of the digi images….the good ol Queen of Hearts stamp was printed out and used as the front of a card that I’m going to mail to a girlfriend….lol. What do you think?


Thanks for stopping by, and until next time,,,,,Peace.

Entry filed under: Altered Alice, altered art, crafts.

The Altered Alice Chapter 4 Challenge Week 3 The Altered Alice

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fliss  |  May 22, 2011 at 3:29 am

    Really gorgeous artwork Retta. I had to come and say so when I saw this on the Altered Alice blog.
    Just fabulous!
    Fliss x

  • 2. Lola Azul  |  May 22, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I like your project is on a canvas board. It has a lot of details. A really great work!. Beautiful!

  • 3. Beth Norman  |  May 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I love your collage work. I saw your work on the Altered Alice blog and had to come over to say how much I love your work.

  • 4. retta519  |  May 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Thank you, Beth 🙂

  • 5. retta519  |  May 22, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Thank you, Lola 🙂

  • 6. retta519  |  May 22, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks, Fliss 🙂

  • 7. Lynne Phelps  |  May 22, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Retta, I love love love this collage! But do me a favor and add a photo of the completed piece at the top of your post as well, it is too lovely not to see the moment you open this post! All the details are just wonderful and I love seeing your step out photos of the creative process, so interesting! And that card still makes me laugh every time I see it! GREAT debut and WONDERFUL projects!

  • 8. Erin L  |  May 23, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Great project! I love how much deminsion it has. It makes me want to reach out and touch it.

  • 9. Silvia(Barnie)  |  May 26, 2011 at 1:56 am

    Wow, your Alice collage is really outstanding. Wonderful.

  • 10. Valeriana  |  May 26, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Hi Retta,

    what a gorgeous design, I really love it!

  • 11. retta519  |  May 26, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Thank you, Erin 🙂

  • 12. retta519  |  May 26, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Thank you, Silvia 🙂

  • 13. retta519  |  May 26, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Thank you, Valeriana….that’s very kind of you.

  • 14. Terry  |  May 29, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Now this is one incredible Altered Alice collage. Love all the fabulous elements. This had to be a fun piece to put together! Love it!

  • 15. CuddlyBunny  |  May 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Your Bitch! Bitch! Bitch! card is so FUN! And, of course, FUNNY!

    But your debut piece as a Guest Design Team member … Retta … it’s jaw-dropping! Really beautiful and unique and FULL of surprises! Surely I could stare at your creation for a month and not discover all of the good things hidden within!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


