Loretta of Troy

April 14, 2011 at 11:42 am 2 comments


I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile now…tell the world about my mom. Born, Loretta Elizabeth Vaughn, in Troy NY, January 9, 1917. Her parents, George and Catherine (Larkin) Vaughn had four daughters. Unfortunately, George passed away suddenly, leaving his wife and four young daughters without a means of support, requiring my grandmother to return to the workforce as a “domestic”. Fast forward to 1939 and the marraige to my father, Frank J Fox. Three children and thirty years later, my mom signed up for oil painting lessons. My mom knew that I loved art and signed me up too. She continued with the lessons, and I quit! Our family was quite surprised when, my mom entered her first juried show…and came home with a blue ribbon 🙂 She called her entry “Feeding Time”. I’m sure it was a copy of another artist because that’s pretty much all she painted…copies of others’ works….and personally, I think she did a wonderful job of it.

Oil painting wasn’t her only interest. She tried her hand at decopage, embroidery, candlewicking, and the intention to make a quilt.

The quilt never transpired, for whatever reason. As she got older, and gave up her independance, I came across the makings of the quilt. There were several completed squares, and lots of coordinating fabric packed away. I had an idea for a gift. I took the completed squares, and the yards of fabric, and turned it into a pillow/lap blanket. I am by no means a seamstress, and certainly not a maker of quilts. I noticed as I took a few pictures this morning of the pillow, that I had tried my hand at quilting….for there’s a heart and the words “Happy 75th” hand sewn into the center of the lap blanket. I must have given it to her for her 75th birthday.

Before my mom retired from working as a civilian at the Watervliet Arsenal (an Army Installation in upstate NY), she tried her hand at embroidery. She bought five linen chair seats and worked on them every day for more than a year. She only placed them on four chairs, and had one extra, sitting wrapped up in her closet. I had another bright idea. For Christmas one year, I took the embroidered piece and brought it to a local frame shop, and had it matted and framed for her as a gift.

I miss her terribly; but take comfort in my faith that we will meet again. So in my mom’s honor and memory, I dedicate this post. She passed away in May of 2000, before she knew too much about the internet. I think she would be tickled pink to know that her art is out on the net, for the whole world to see…and will be out there as long as the WWW Network exists.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed the show 😉 Until next time, Peace

*Edited on 5/1/11 to include a couple scrapbook pages I created*

<


Entry filed under: Art, Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m at it again….the Altered Alice Guest Designer? Me? Wow!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynne Phelps  |  April 24, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    What a special post. I lost my mother to pancreatic cancer in 2005. She was crafty, embroidered, knit, and used to oil paint, mainly in the style of various masters! She got sick before losing her independence was an issue, but your story has so many similarities. I think honoring your beloved mother by acting as curator of her online “gallery showing” is such a wonderful way to show that even though the person dies, the LOVE still lives. I miss my Mom every single day and I know you do to. Easter blessings to you and yours!

  • 2. Sharon  |  May 3, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Wonderful post about your mother. Beautiufl art!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


