I’m at it again….the Altered Alice

April 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm 9 comments

I’ve once again decided to submit a project to the Altered Alice. The April challenge is as follows:

“Mr. Tenniel is the only artist, who has drawn for me, who has resolutely refused to use a model, and declared he no more needed one than I should need a multiplication table to work a mathematical problem! I venture to think that he was mistaken and that for want of a model, he drew several pictures of “Alice” entirely out of proportion – head decidedly too large and feet decidedly too small.”
— From a letter by Lewis Carroll (pseudonym of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson)

Although the stories were written for and inspired by the brunette Alice Liddell, when it came time for Tenniel to create the illustrations, Carroll sent him a photo of blonde Mary Hilton-Badcock as his image of what Alice should look like. Early color illustrations of Alice show a girl with long blonde hair, wearing either a blue dress with a white pinafore, or a yellow dress with a blue and white pinafore.

Therefore, our challenge this month is to create something that is predominantly blue and yellow, the colors associated with Alice! Although it is not required that you use Wonderland in your project, those that do feature Wonderland will receive two chances at the drawing instead of one! Enter by Friday, April 22 at 8 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (GMT -4:00) and the winner will be posted sometime on Sunday, April 24.

My project is done on a 8×11 canvas board, and is an Alice in Wonderland theme. I call it “Perspective”. The graphic I am using is taken from my copy of Alice in Wonderland, and includes Alice looking into and out of the looking glass. Life is all perspective…how you see things…how your minds eye sees things, don’t you think? I’m pleased with how it turned out.

into the looking glass

Speaking of Alice in Wonderland, I’ve been published in an online magazine called Altered Arts. There was a call for projects with an Alice in Wonderland theme, specifically, Through the Looking Glass, and I couldn’t pass it up.

I called the piece, “Let’s Pretend”. It was an altered chipboard box, and opened up to reveal several items relating to the story. I guess I can’t show you any more pictures of the piece, as I signed an agreement with Altered Arts. Guess you’ll have to buy the magazine…lol.

This is the second time that Altered Arts published one of my projects. I had a shadow box published in their freebie Christmas issue back in December.

 
If you want to look through the Christmas Projects issue, feel free….click this link
That is the same format they publish their regular issues with. It may take a few seconds for the graphics to load.

I’ve also created a few cards for birthdays and such. I’ll share them now before I sign out.

Thanks for stopping! Until next time, Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, altered art, Life in General. Tags: , , , .

Altered Alice Challenge for March Loretta of Troy

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terry  |  April 12, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Congratulations on being published! Beautiful projects! Love what you created for The Altered Alice! Very cool for sure!

  • 2. Silvia(Barnie)  |  April 13, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Your Alice canvas rocks, fantastic piece of art.

  • 3. Lynne Phelps  |  April 13, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    So glad you entered The Altered Alice challenge again! This is just fabulous! I am looking at it on my little iPhone screen, and it looks like you’ve used a lot of fabric? I love it! Can’t wait to see it on a bigger screen! I love all the layers and textures. I also love the way you have the reflected Alice images; perspective is the perfect title!

  • 4. retta519  |  April 14, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Hi Lynne. Thank you for the compliments. I do enjoy the challenge, and look forward to each weeks posting of inspiration pieces.

    “Perspective” is primarily acrylic paint; although I did use some burlap fabric and ribbon. I used a few clear stamps, and “masked” the mirror frame using a die-cut from a K&Co cardstock pack. I used Adirondack Silver Mixative for the mirror, and the two Alice graphics were copied from my Alice in Wonderland book and colored in using pencil. Alice on the outside is made dimensional by using mounting tape.

    Again, thanks for the kind words…and thank you for the Altered Alice.

  • 5. Barbara Washington  |  April 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I’d love to see this piece in real life. It’s fabulous. What a great way of interpreting the challenge. The image at the mirror is so real. The whole piece is awesome. Thanks for joining the Altered Alice challenge again this month. Hope to see you next month.

  • 6. Tracy Evans  |  April 15, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Fabulous piece, love all the details, the texture and the layers. A wonderful take on the challenge. So glad you joined in with the challenge at The Altered Alice. Your other pieces are also inspirational. Tracy Evans x

  • 7. CuddlyBunny  |  April 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    WOW! Your perspective piece is unbelievable! Beautiful textures!

    Congratulations on having your work published: It’s clearly deserved as your pieces are great!

  • 8. Nigel  |  April 20, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Wow! This is superb. fantastic detail, and wonderful textures – love it 🙂

  • 9. Ana caldatto  |  April 25, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    uauuu
    Parabéns pela menção Honrosa!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


