Altered Alice Challenge for March

March 25, 2011 at 12:35 pm 2 comments

What is it about Alice in Wonderland that I find so attractive? I honestly don’t know…but once again, I’ve been tempted to participate in a challenge at the Altered Alice blog:

”There was not a moment to be lost: away went Alice like the wind, and was just in time to hear it say, as it turned a corner, `Oh my ears and whiskers, how late it’s getting!’ She was close behind it when she turned the corner, but the Rabbit was no longer to be seen: she found herself in a long, low hall, which was lit up by a row of lamps hanging from the roof.

There were doors all round the hall, but they were all locked; and when Alice had been all the way down one side and up the other, trying every door, she walked sadly down the middle, wondering how she was ever to get out again.”
— Chapter 1, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Per Lynne Phelps: This month’s challenge is to use a door or doors, and preferably for the door or doors to open and close so we can see what lays beyond! While it is not required that your project include Alice in Wonderland, we do encourage it. If your project features Wonderland you will get two chances in the prize drawing instead of one!

The sponsor of the March challenge is the Octopode Factory who is donating a $30 gift certificate allowing for downloading digital images from their etsy shop. Have a look…the characters are creepy cute with their big bug eyes…and there’s lots to choose from 🙂

For my submission, I altered a wooden key holder box that I picked up from Big Lots for fifty cents. I painted the box with some Distress Crackle paint, and then dug out my Graphic 45 Halloween in Wonderland papers. Several Tim Holtz metal embelishments complete the project. I destest giving blow by blow descriptions of how I completed a project, so I won’t 🙂 If anyone has any questions, feel free to shoot me a message, I’d be happy to go on and on….because I tend to ramble.

Here are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure:

Outside view

close up

 

In other news….I’ve made several cards for friends and family members:

That’s it for now…..until next time, Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, altered art, crafts, embellishments, Life in General. Tags: , , , , , .

Disaster in Japan I’m at it again….the Altered Alice

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan Allan  |  March 25, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Your ‘Altered Alice’ piece is amazing. I love it!
    Sue xx

  • 2. Barbara Washington  |  March 27, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    How clever to start this Alice project with a key holder. It’s a fabulous project with so much to see. Thanks for joining our challenge at the Altered Alice.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


