Look What The Cat Dragged In

February 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm 4 comments

Yes, it’s true. I’m actually here, and adding a post! I know, I know, it’s been more than a year….but there’s no WordPress rule that I have to post regularly. Anyway…the reason for this post is just so that I can submit a project over at The Altered Alice. I found the site several months ago via another site…I’m thinking that the other site was ScrapScene.

The Altered Alice has monthly challenges, and that’s what this post is all about. Their sponsor Stampotique Originals is giving away a gift certificate to one lucky winner. I’m hoping to be that winner. Check out their site…they have a great assortment of rubber stamps and supplies. I like them so much, I’ve already ordered three of their stamps. Can’t wait for the postman to deliver them. Winning a gift certificate would be like icing on the cake.

This month’s challenge was stated as follows:
Sunday, January 30, 2011CHAPTER 1 Challenge – Week 1: Changes in form and dress forms!
Posted by Lynne Phelps
“Alice crouched down among the trees as well as she could, for her neck kept getting entangled among the branches, and every now and then she had to stop and untwist it. After a while she remembered that she still held the pieces of mushroom in her hands, and she set to work very carefully, nibbling first at one and then at the other, and growing sometimes taller and sometimes shorter, until she had succeeded in bringing herself down to her usual height.
It was so long since she had been anything near the right size, that it felt quite strange at first; but she got used to it in a few minutes, and began talking to herself, as usual. `Come, there’s half my plan done now! How puzzling all these changes are! I’m never sure what I’m going to be, from one minute to another!” ~– Chapter 5, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Well, just like Alice we have been through a change in location and changed form from weekly to monthly, but the challenge chapters remain familiar despite all these puzzling changes!
I don’t know about you, but the Adventures of Alice in Wonderland is not an easy read…it’s way out there…haha. I’m not familiar with the Victorian Age, or the wordplay, satire and parody. All of the innuendo is lost on me. Having said that, my project submission is a result of my own imagination.

May I present to you, Miss Wonderland:

Alice of Wonderland


So…there you have it! Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: Altered, altered art. Tags: , , .

Tim Holtz and the 12 tags of Christmas Just an update

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynne Phelps  |  February 19, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks so much for playing along with The Altered Alice! I feel very honored that our challenge tempted you into your first post after more than a year. What a WONDERful Wonderland creation! All the details are so perfect, and the final touch of a transparent Cheshire cat up in the crown is perfect! Would love to hear more about how you created this, it is just fascinating. Hope we’ll tempt you into posting next month, and good luck!

  • 2. Sue  |  February 21, 2011 at 2:28 am

    Wow we are honoured that you came out of blog retirement to play with us at Altered Alice and with such a fab piece! LOVE IT!!

  • 3. retta519  |  February 21, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    LOL…thanks, Ladies. Thanks for providing the desire. My Altered Alice project was fun to do. The form itself is actually a jewelry tree. I lopped off the extra arms, and attached the stamped image of her head along with a K&Company diecut crown. Not sure if you recognise the stamp, it’s a Graphic 45 image cling stamp by Hampton Art. The beauty pagent sash is just a piece of ribbon with rubons spelling out Wonderland.
    I was bitten by the Alice in Wonderland bug when I visited your blog back in October. The Alice in Wonderland shadowboxes were so enticing 🙂
    I’d like to thank you for carrying on with the challenges…and congratulate the new design team members!

  • 4. Barbara Washington  |  February 24, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    So glad that you found The Altered Alice challenge and that you were inspired to create this wonderful Alice. A combination of Alice and steampunk. Does it get any better than this! Thanks for sharing her in The Altered Alice challenge.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


