Sunday July 12

July 12, 2009 at 6:52 pm Leave a comment

I don’t think this has ever happened before….two posts in one day! Over the last few days, my husband, my daughter, and the dog, have all been stung by bees. All three stings happened in the same are of our backyard. Friday afternoon, I had noticed more than the usual number of bees flying about…so I stood up on our deck, and began watching them. Sure enough…they had started a nest in the ground!
P7110084hornets
My husband got the pitchfork out, and quickly turned over the sod. After they calmed down a bit, he started spraying some hornet spray at them and the hole in the ground. I was brave enough to take a picture or two from up on the deck. The bee in the middle is flying…I believe the two on each side are dead.
P7110085beezII

Besides the ornery bees….there are some pretty flowers blooming at the moment. Some are perennials…the others are annuals:
P7090057clematis

P7090056coneflowerP7090054fairy

P7090053nanananana

P6300031rose

P7090060spirea

P7090061lily

P7090063forgetmenotz

P7090066phlox

P7090069hydrangea

Okay…enough of the flowers…. Here’s my pretend entry for the Gallery Idol Challenge that’s due tomorrow. The round calls for a card that incorporates items from Around the House. I stamped the image onto glossy cardstock and used my Marvy brush markers to color it. You can’t tell from the photo, but I used pop dots on three of the sunflowers to give the image some depth. I think the mesh behind the cardstock looks like window screen..don’t you?
P7120092Around the House

Hmmm….I seem to be an awful lot of stamping lately, have you noticed?

Entry filed under: crafts, Greeting Cards, Life in General, Papercrafts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Saturday July 11…no wait… Sunday July 19

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


