Just a day in the life

May 31, 2009 at 1:03 pm 1 comment

P1010196my porchIt’s been a tough week. Last Friday, my husband’s longtime friend passed away of a massive stroke…or heart attack…not really sure. Paul had recently turned 61 years old, and was looking forward to retiring next year, on his 62nd. He leaves behind, a shocked and loving family and host of friends. Rest in peace, Paul.

I made a card for Jennifer, his wife. I printed a copy of one of my favorite rememberance poems on the front. I only hope she can find comfort in the words…if not today….maybe tomorrow.

P1010191as long as you remember me

I strolled through my yard this morning, in search of new blooms. My poppies are blooming….I love the color…salmon, I think. It won’t be long before all of my roses begin blooming. I found the first one along side my house. I think my mother in law gave me this bush many many years ago.

The garden area (if that’s what you want to call it) of my backyard is different every year. The majority of the plants pretty much have free rein…and scatter their seeds and sprout up where they want. Less maintenance that way *wink*.
P1010174salmon poppy

P1010176rose

P1010173wlk through

P1010177wild abandon

P1010183this year 09

P1010186delicate

P1010188where rhodies n chives mingle

P1010189garden slug

P1010187watchguard

P1010195my house

I love my little house and yard. I just wish I had more storage space…and maybe some organizational skills. I surf the net and find all these cute little cottages online…and when invited in, I don’t see any of the junk that I have lying around. The word junk is a bit strong…but I’m talking about all the normal possessions one has in life. Where do they hide it???

Guess I’ll sit and sip some iced tea on my front porch, and contemplate the answer. Thanks for stopping by. Until next time….Peace.

Entry filed under: flower garden, greeting card, Greeting Cards, handmade greeting card, Life in General, Papercrafts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Not much going on here in this neck of the woods… June bugs scare me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tanisharenee  |  June 13, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Hi Rett!! Long time no see…hope you are doing well! I really enjoyed this post, so much to see. Love the minis- who makes those felt cutouts, they’re adorable?

    So Sorry to hear about the hub’s best friend–your rememberance poem is beautiful.

    I’m so loving your garden, makes me wish i had a green thumb. Your home is lovely, too!

    Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


