Welcome Home Russ

January 6, 2009 at 6:35 pm 3 comments

welcome-home-russ

Here’s the poster I made for a fella coming back to work after his second tour of Afghanistan. This will be the first thing he sees when he gets off the elevator, Thursday morning. This is just my way of saying thank you to him. It was my intention to make the poster look like a quilt. How’d I do? The center paper (a US Army insignia) and the embossed flags (which are supposed to mimic applique) are both from K&Company. The blocks are ProvoCraft “Americana” papers by Michelle Anderson’s Pathways. I did my best to use my Hello Kitty sewing machine to stitch around each block…and of course, something went wrong with the bobbin…lol. Oh well….most quilts aren’t perfect anyway, right? I bought some sparkly foam stars at Michaels for $1.99…poked a couple of holes in each, and tied a knot with some twine…making them look like buttons.
sparkly-star
I bought two packages of the large sparkly letters to spell out the Welcome Home Russ and needed five packages of the Making Memories mini shimmer alphas to spell out a poem that was found on a World War II friendship pillow. oh-the-world-is

but-the-sweetest
This poster ended up costing a pretty penny….but compare that to what my co-worker was willing to give up for me and mine…it’s my pleasure 🙂

As I said, Russ comes back to work on Thursday,,,and it was my intention to set the poster up on Wednesday night, when I’m done with work and on my way out the door…but guess what? We’re going to have another storm here,,,starting tonight!! Grrrrr….more snow and ICE! It’ll be a nightmare if I lose my power….and HEAT. The weathermen are saying be prepared for more power outages because of falling branches and trees….Waaaaaaaa. I brought the poster to work today…and asked two die-hard employees (who always make it to work, no matter how bad the roads are!) to set it up for me….You see, I won’t be going in. haha. My car is horrible in the snow…and I won’t take a chance of getting in an accident. The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Storm Warning….and per the warning: “A WINTER STORM WARNING MEANS SIGNIFICANT AMOUNTS OF SNOW…
SLEET…AND ICE ARE EXPECTED OR OCCURRING. STRONG WINDS ARE ALSO POSSIBLE. THIS WILL MAKE TRAVEL VERY HAZARDOUS OR IMPOSSIBLE.” I don’t need to hear any more….lol.

Thanks for stopping by my blog…and until next time….Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, Life in General.

I won! You can too! Inauguration Day 2009

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scrapNdiva  |  January 16, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is sooooo nice

  • 2. Mary  |  March 15, 2009 at 2:14 am

    What an AWESOME idea !!!! I wish I had such an imagination (not to mention the patience) to work on and some day finish.. Even without a Hello Kitty machine..LOLLLLLL
    How far upstate are you ?? From the snow warning, it sounds like OSWEGO county or close to it .. I’m in CNY & feel for the people a little bit further up than me.. Yucccckkky !!! I AM SO READY FOR SPRING..

  • 3. retta519  |  March 15, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Hi Mary. Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a sweet comment.

    I’m just outside of Albany. Ha…I think Oswego County is under Severe Winter Weather Warnings from November through April, no? LOL.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


