Ice! Ice! Baby!

December 12, 2008 at 10:08 pm 1 comment

coated-in-ice Remember that song? We here in the northeast, are living it. We had a wicked ice storm last night…I was afraid that the neighbor’s weed tree was going to come through my bedroom wall while I was sleeping, and spear me to death. Close call…it took down a section of our fence, instead. Look at how sharp that baby is!!!
spear-me That’s hubby, standing next to the deadly weapon, and our damaged fence. Last night after I got into bed, every crack and snap had me poppin up, and to the window, to see the havoc mother nature was causing. The skies were glowing from what I imagine were transformers, owned by the local electric company. It looked apocalyptic. We’ve been without power since somewhere around 5am this morning. The power company is saying that it’ll be three days before everyone gets their power back!!! THREE DAYS!!!! The temperature is going down to about 18 degrees fahrenheit tonight….Brrrrrrrrrr. I’m warm blooded…but that’s ridiculous! So we’re at a local extended stay motel…not far from home. They have power….they don’t have any rooms left…but they have power. Apparently we aren’t the only ones craving heat and electricity. There are the four of us (hubby, son, daughter, myself), the cat, the dog, and the iguana….we’re one big happy family 🙂 I think we may have to stay here for another two nights. I imagine that we’ll be trashing all the stuff in our freezer…not to mention the perishables in the fridge. Geesh.

There was no way that I was going to work this morning…no shower…ice covered car…who knows what the roads were like…and the crazy people out there driving on them….so, yes…I stayed home. hehe

Here are a few more pictures I took today:
red-white-and-brown

for-the-birds

iced-tree

drip

ice-ice-baby

the-snowman-and-the-sombrero

birdhouse
You have to admit…photos of ice covered anything really does look pretty…eh?

While it was daylight, I worked on a few crafty projects. My sister had asked me to come up with “tickets” for her, to give to her granddaughters for Christmas….my sister and her daughter are purchasing airline tickets for the girls to make a trip to Florida in February. She wants something she can put in a box, and wrap up. I bought a Making Memories Embellishments Travel Suitcase the other day…and used that. Each girl is going to get a tag thingy, with their name on a tag, the destination on another, and the dates of their trip on yet another. I took these pictures before I added the information with lots of rub ons…but you get the idea….There are a few more ribbons tied on, too. I think they turned out cute. I’m glad I bought the kit. Have I mentioned before that I really like Making Memories stuff? Well, I do.
for-kris-and-lexi

making-memories

Here’s a card I made for the guy who sits in the shed at my work parking garage. Nice guy…so I’ll slip him a few bucks in the card and wish him a happy holiday.
ho-ho-ho-joe

I also dropped this card in the mail to my niece. Monday’s her birthday. Sorry for such a lousy pic…the embossed birdcage didn’t photo well. The inside of the card says: “Tweetie”.
hb-tweetie

Thanks for stopping by. Until next time….Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, Greeting Cards, handmade greeting card, Life in General, Papercrafts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m going broke! Somebody stop me! Merry Christmas from my house to yours

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tanisharenee  |  December 20, 2008 at 10:16 am

    wowzers that thing looks treacherous!!!

    Your photos are so totally amazing…great eye for detail! Love your projects, too! That tag album is too adorable!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


