America the Beautiful

October 12, 2008 at 8:39 pm 2 comments

I haven’t talked at all about my recent vacation. Hubby, Sis and I flew out to Salt Lake City Utah…and flew home from there too. In between, we rented a car, and drove 3700 miles…through Northern Utah, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota. We saw all the touristy places..although we didn’t really have time to actually stop and do anything…there wasn’t enough time. That was the price we paid for all the places we saw, I guess. My fave had to have been Yellowstone National Park. All in all, the scenery was spectacular. Enjoy the Slideshow. When I look at them, there are two songs going through my mind….America the Beautiful, and Home, Home on the Range.

I also haven’t said anything about the scrapbooking contest I entered…and won! Before I left on my vacation, I created and entered a page about my father. The contest called for a submission of your favorite student. Around the same time, I had come across a picture of my dad in grammer school…so that was the photo I used on my page.

Journaling on the page is as follows: Star student, Frank J. Fox, is my dad. This picture was taken sometime in the 1920’s at St. Bridget’s School, in Watervliet, N.Y. My dad was not only academically inclined…he was a musical genius. He studied classical piano for eleven years, beginning when he was a youngster and continuing through high school. No one could tickle the ivories like dad. I’m sure that my appreciation for classical, ragtime, the blues, and music from the forties is a direct result of listening to dad for all those years. One year, my mom asked what I’d like for Christmas. My request was for an audio cassette of dad playing his repertoire of routine songs. It was the best present I’ve ever received.

After I got home from my vacation, I went to Scapbooking.com, and I can’t explain the feeling inside, when I clicked on the contest details, and saw my page, and my name, saying that I had won the contest. Scrapbooking.com was very generous with their prize package….a whole bunch of stuff from Piggy Tales. Check this out:

I have tomorrow off from work, in honor of Columbus Day….maybe I’ll create something! Til next time.

Entry filed under: Life in General, Papercrafts, Scrapbooking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Okay…I’ll bite Happy Friday, ya’ll

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MommaLiia  |  October 13, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Congrats on the WIN! Look at all the neat stuff! Can’t wait to see your creations! Love the LO! and the Slide show! I’ve never been past Penn state in terms of west travel …so i love seen pics of this great nation I call home!

  • 2. tanisharenee74  |  October 23, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Amazing photos, Rett!!!!!! Great LO–congrats on the contest win!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


