Another four years?

August 24, 2008 at 9:41 am Leave a comment

I can’t believe I said yes. I’ve been thinking a lot about retiring lately. I’m not old enough, but I’m getting close. This coming February, I’ll have 31 years of service with my present employer. That’s a long time. I’m tired. Tired of getting up every morning and going into the office. I have the minimum number of years service, I just don’t meet the age requirment…not for two more years. Well, dontcha know…the Director called me into her office the other day. I felt like a kid being called to the Principal’s office..lol. She acknowledged the fact that I was looking to retire in two years, and how I was “winding down”, and then asked me if I’d be interested in staying, and working as a liason between our bureau and the business re-design project that has been going on for the last few years. Of course, there would be a nice raise and promotion in it for me, which in turn, would increase my monthly retirement benefit. This has been a huge big deal, this business re-design. I worked in the same bureau twenty five years ago, when the present design was initiated…and that was a big deal too. The first design was four or five years in the making also, and worked like a charm…however…for reasons unknown to me, it has been overloaded with tweeks and fixes…a very dangerous situation should our system fail.

It’s going to take at least another three or four years for this new re-design to go online…and therefore a three or four year commitment from me. UGH…I can’t believe I said yes. The Director told me that she was approached by the Design Team to give them two names of people within her Bureau that would be able to help coordinate…people who know how the present system works. I guess I’d have to agree with the Director, I am probably the only person in the Accounting Bureau that knows not only Investments, and Member Benefits…but how they tie into the General Ledger. I see what works and what doesn’t. The Director only gave the Design Team one name…mine. There is no one else in the Bureau that has the experience I have. It’s kind of scary…because as much as I know…there’s more that I don’t. I am confident though, because my agency has a wonderful geek squad. I’d have to give them a 5 star rating.

The position isn’t a done deal at this point…and I’m supposed to keep the Director’s proposal to me under wraps. I’m going crazy, because I can’t talk to anyone about it…that’s probably why I’m writing this here…so Shhhh…don’t tell anyone 🙂 I believe this next phase has to go before the Budget, and the Re-design Committee needs to pitch their intention, and get approval to spend the money. I believe you call that “red tape”.

Entry filed under: Life in General.

SkyWatch Friday Post Go Eagles!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


