Soggy Sunday

July 20, 2008 at 8:59 pm 2 comments

Phew…was it ever HAWT today! And can you say “MUGGY”? There were scattered showers and thunderstorms pretty much all day. Hopefully there’s a cold front on it’s way…but I somehow doubt it. It is July, after all. July and August are usually warm in this neck of the woods.

I stayed put..inside where the air is conditioned. Hubby won $100 yesterday at the Knights of Columbus raffle…He and my sister split the cost of the ticket…so she has half coming when she gets back from vacation. I believe she’s in Albequerque New Mexico. Won’t she be pleasantly surprised!

Tomorrow is my 35th wedding anniversary, and my in-laws called us this morning, and asked if we’d like to go to the Outback Steakhouse for lunch! Of course we said yes! Yummmmm….the Outback Special….yummmmm Sweet Potato….with honey butter and cinnamon….yummmmm….I love the croutons they put on the tossed salad. Of course, after all that…I had no room for dessert. Oh well…maybe next time. After we got back home, I wanted to take a nap…haha. Instead, I finished up a get well card for a gal who’s going through another round of chemo…for ovarian cancer. I’m afraid for her…the cancer has come back less than a year after her first battle. Please keep her in your prayers.

So here’s what I’ve been working on this weekend. The first, is a card that I made for the CHA Special Sketch over at Triple the Sketch The second card is for the girl I was speaking of earlier. The third card, I call “Tweetheart” is for hubby…tomorrow. And last…are two scrapbook pages I did that tells about the time I took Tae kwon do. Tae kwon do is the national sport of South Korea…it’s a martial art. The journaling on the cards say: I learned a lot about myself while practicing the art of Tae kwon do. I learned patience and perserverance. I made friends and had fun. I believe I have more confidence than ever..and wouldn’t think twice about protecting myself. I took Tae kwon do to lose weight and to get back into shape after Jr. was born. I worked out 3 x a week (faithfully) for almost 3 years….and never lost a pound…but I did turn into a 145 pound walking muscle! haha…it’s true…I never lost a pound…and boy did I sweat! I’d walk out of that school drenched! And never lost a pound. One of the pictures on the second page (bottom picture, left side) was taken at a tournament that we went to in Pittsburgh PA. We left my school after work Friday night…and drove all night to get to Pittsburgh. It rained all night,,,and I was following the van in front of me, not knowing where I was going…and if you’ve ever driven the highways of Pennsylvania,,,you know that there’s always construction. I was so stressed out when I got there…after the trip…and not getting any sleep. The first minute of the first round of my first fight, I popped the girl I was fighting in the nose…made it bleed…and proceeded to get disqualified from any further fighting in that tournament. Making contact to the face in Tae kwon do was a no no. It’s all about “control” …how close can you come without making contact….that day, I failed miserably…lol. I did better in forms…but it was no consolation….my favorite was sparring. Ahh…the memories.

Peace.

Entry filed under: Greeting Cards, Life in General, scrapbook, Scrapbooking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

A little sad today Centerfold

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tanisharenee  |  August 2, 2008 at 10:00 am

    your cards are absolutely gorgeous!

    Love the way you included the belts on your LO!!

  • 2. retta519  |  August 2, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


