Nothing going on here

July 2, 2008 at 8:30 pm Leave a comment

I thought that I’d drop in though, and show you the guest we had on our side porch tonight, after work. A wee little robin from the nest in the neighbor’s yard. Isn’t he cute? His mama was watching and talking to him from the roof of our shed. As I type these words, he’s made it all the way around to the other side of my house, and he’s sitting in one of the bushes outside calling for his mama. His sibling has flown from the nest too…and is wandering about my yard. I think I’ll call the two of them Pete..and Repeat..lol. Hopefully, papa bird is keeping his eye on the second one. Knowing what a worry wort I am, I’ll probably sleep lightly tonight, listening for distress calls by the parents. We have a few cats in the neighborhood that prowl my yard at night. I’ll proclaim myself guardian tonight…and run around the yard tonight in my jammies to chase away any threats. That’s me. That’s just the way I am.

While I had my camera in hand, I went around to the front of the house, to take a picture of the new robin nest…because hubby said there are two little eggs inside. But alas, I wasn’t able to get a picture, because mama was keeping them warm.

I think she’s having second thoughts about putting her nest in the busiest spot around the house.

Entry filed under: Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , .

Another weekend bites the dust Just another day in the neighborhood

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


