Feelin Hot! Hot! Hot!

June 11, 2008 at 2:25 am 1 comment

I think this is the fourth day in a row that the temperature has been in the nineties…geesh. Enough already! I came home from work today to find my daughter and grand niece in the next door neighbor’s pool.

There were tornado watches posted for all of eastern New York earlier today. That’s kinda scary. The watches have been downgraded to severe thunderstorms. As I type this, I hear the roll of thunder. I love a good thunderstorm, as long as there’s no serious damage, and I don’t lose my power 🙂

I took a little stroll in my yard after snapping pictures of Katie and Lexi in the pool. My peonies are in bloom, and just like every year,,,they droop. The pale pink bloom is being held up by my lilac bush.

I have pretty Clematis vines in bloom, big bees hanging around the salvia, and flowers on a shrub that I don’t know or remember the name of.

And last, but certainly not least…this may look like just plain ol dirt right now, but in a few months, there will be pretty pink, white, and red cosmos swaying in the wind.

I stopped at the local rubberstamp store (Stampassion) tonight, and bought a new stamp, and a few other goodies in anticipation of filling in my 7 Gypsies ATC holder.

We learned of some sad news today. Every year for I don’t know how many years now, my husband has worked on a local farm, “haying it”. He spent his summers as a child on his grandparents dairy farm, and to this day, loves the smell of fresh cut hay. After his grandparents retired and sold the farm, he began helping out a local family. The man has been very ill for the last several years with kidney disease…and dontcha know, my husband was looking at the obituaries this morning, and the farmers wife passed away this past Sunday. I feel so bad. I can’t imagine one without the other, ya know? Hubby was just over to the farm a week or so ago, and she was down at the house talking to someone from the State about their horse farm…I think it’s called Cherry Hill Farm. I can’t believe she’s gone. RIP, Louisa. Funny little something….the farmer always called his wife “Sarge” lol….I’m not sure if she knew it or not. I suppose she does now 😉

Entry filed under: Life in General, Papercrafts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Today was HOT! *CRASH*

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  June 11, 2008 at 3:21 am

    Hey there! Thanks for the birthday wishes! I didn’t realize you were blogging on WordPress now! Very cool. I need to switch to WordPress…looks like you can do a lot more with it than blogger! We made it through the storms tonight too safe and sound. I thought it was going to be a lot worse. DH’s work sent him home at 1:30 today because of the tornado watch.
    Well, have a good day. Kati has me up in the middle of the night so I decided to check my messages. 🙂
    Dani

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


