Tim Holtz and Patti Ballard

March 6, 2013 at 9:26 pm 4 comments

Do you follow Tim Holtz? I do. Right now, he has a challenge happening on his website. The only requirement, is that you use his Sizzix Die, Tattered Florals. The deadline for this challenge is Friday, March 22. Five lucky participants will win a goodie bag of Tim stuff….worth $100! I’m in…how about you? If you don’t have the die, nor the money to invest at this time, several of Tim’s friends are offering a chance to win the die on their websites. Check out Tim’s blog…he’s posted their links. I’m pretty sure all you have to do is comment on their blogs to win….good luck!
Here’s what I did:
I took a large piece of wax paper and placed it on my work surface, and dribbled acrylic paint on it. I then placed a 12×12 piece of white (thick) cardstock face down on the wax paper and smeared the paint around. I used my heat gun on the cardstock to dry the paint, then dribbled another color on the wax paper, and once again smeared the cardstock through the paint, drying it afterwards. I repeated this step using several colors of acrylic paint. I stamped the cardstock using archivers ink. After the flowers were cut out, I used my black and white gel pens, outlining the edges, and added decorative circles.

acrylics and wax paper

acrylics and wax paper


cardstock acrylics and rubber

cardstock acrylics and rubber


pretty Tattered Florals

pretty Tattered Florals


I decided to add stems. I used floral wire, beads and tissue tape…and secured the flowers to the stems using….get this….pieces of pencil erasers. Personally, I think it was pretty clever, on my part…lol. Check it out:
cut up mechanical pencil erasers

cut up mechanical pencil erasers


eraser holds the flower up

eraser holds the flower up

Once I started, I didn’t feel like stopping :) I ran several strips of thick cardstock through my big kick and made not only a ton of Tattered Florals, I ran the Tattered Garland die through a few times too. Here are several pictures of the projects I’m using in the challenge. A small window flowerbox, and an Easter bonnet ;)

SAMSUNG


And last; but certainly not least…a pretty birthday card: I still have a baggie of pretty tattered florals….I’m sure that I’ll be using them on several more projects.
???????

On another note…..
I failed to mention something in my post last night. In January, while I was in Florida, I attended Boca Fest in Boca Raton, and met an artist by the name of Patti Ballard. I knew as soon as I came upon her tent that I needed to buy something from her….lol. Check out her website….I love whimsical and I loved everything I saw displayed! I bought a canvas print…..Bunny Joined the Circus :) I love him. I only wish I could have purchased an original. Then, something funny happened….when I returned to my sister’s place later that day, I was looking through the 2013 Winter Issue of Somerset Studio Gallery…and her art was featured! In fact, there were two different featured projects in the same issue. I just thought I’d share this with you. If you’re anything like me, you enjoy discovering new inspiration. Go have a look…I love her website.

Sandwich Board

Sandwich Board

bunny joined the circus
bunny joined the circus

Two posts in as many days…imagine that! Until next time…….Peace

Entry filed under: Altered, altered art, Challenge, crafts, Giveaway, greeting card, handmade greeting card, Life in General. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Back from Hiatus….did you miss me? Busy Busy Busy…Naw…Not really

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. danni  |  March 14, 2013 at 12:54 am

    WOW, these are beautiful, love the eraser tip too, brilliant!

  • 2. Marilyn J. Rock  |  March 31, 2013 at 10:59 am

    HI Retta! Love this post; so filled with beautiful artistic projects and gives me hope of Spring’s arrival. Thank you for the eraser tip, too.

    Happy Easter to you and yours! xxoo Marilyn

  • 3. trisha too  |  April 8, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Those flowers are joyful, Rett–the colors are, well, okay, they’re pretty much the same palette I like to use, so maybe that’s why I’m lovin’ them so much! And you know, I think I’ve seen Miss Patti’s work before, that bunny looks awfully familiar!
    :)

  • 4. Dawn  |  April 16, 2013 at 10:45 am

    What Fab flowers!! Lovely ‘happy’ pics! Thanks for the comments on my blog about the Mad Hatter hat!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

