Daddy Diaper Duty Tool Belt

December 2, 2007 at 11:46 pm 10 comments

I went to a baby shower today…I haven’t been to one of them in a long time. Actually, I tagged along with my daughter…she was invited…not me. Her friend is due Dec.25…quite a present, eh? Anyway, when I found out that Claudia was pregnant, I wanted to make something for her. I ended up coming across a daddy diaper duty tool belt on Two Peas in a Bucket. I thought it was the cutest darn thing. Here’s what I came up with..and it was a hit:

for-claudias-hubby.jpg for-wordpress-ii.jpg for-wordpressiii.jpg


Entry filed under: Altered. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Something to think about Dream Big

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane  |  March 17, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Hi, thanks for the toolbelt tip! I went to the website but could not find the one you have shown here. HELP! Thanks. Diane

  • 2. retta519  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Hi Diane…the one shown here is the one I made :-). I went to WalMart and bought a men’s leather toolbelt. I punched holes in the belt with my Crop-A-Dile (from WeAreMemoryKeepers), I re-inforced the holes with eyelets (also with my Crop-A-Dial) and added jump rings through the eyelets. I bought tongs, rubber gloves, safety glasses, dust masks, a cute little pacifier holder, a pacifier, a toy, and attached them all onto the jump rings. A clothespin is clipped on and is the “backup” for the “stink eliminating mask”. The pockets of the toolbelt are also stuffed with goodies…diapers…baby wipes…antibacterial hand lotion, baby powder…etc.

    If you click on each of the pictures, you’ll see close up views. If you can’t read the Diaper Duty Checklist, let me know and I’ll send you a picture through an e-mail. Have fun!

  • 3. Helen  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I love your Daddy Diaper Duty Tool Belt and the checklist you have with it.

    Could I make a copy of your tool belt and checklist to give to my nephew? He and his wife are expecting twins (first set in our family for over 50 years!!) and it would be such a great gift for hm. This is their first time of being parents and to make a tool belt for twins would be so awesome.

    Thank you
    Helen Donahue

    *Of course! Have fun, and enjoy the new additions to your family! *

  • 4. Terry Gibson  |  September 20, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Thank you so much Diane-how cute! I am 55 and on disabilty so I have started making diaper cakes and towel cakes to sell for added income. I had made the diaper cakes as well as a Daddy Duty belt back 3 or so years ago for family babies. Back then I found a tool belt for $1 at Dollar Tree but they don’t have them anymore. I couldn’t find anything from Walmart on line for tool belts. I did however find some canvas ones at http://www.fmtoolstore.com andwww.toolboxesdirect.com. They were $5.49 for a waist apron to $8.99 for a bib full apron. I have in mind to make “Big Brother” and “Big Sister” aprons and needed a smaller version of an adults apron.
    Thanks!!
    Terry/Tx.

    Hi Terry! Thanks for leaving a comment…and sharing your online bargain addresses. I think your “Big Brother” and “Big Sister” aprons idea will be a “Big Hit”! Great idea! Best of luck.

  • 5. Heather  |  April 30, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I love this!! my husband and I are expecting in Sept and I’m going to make one of these for him :) Can you please e~mail me a copy of the checklist??

  • 6. Merril Levien  |  June 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    please e-mail a copy of the check list for the daddy tool belt. I would like to send it to my son.

  • 7. retta519  |  June 3, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Daddy Diaper Duty Checklist

    Diaper Changing Preperation:
    Goggles
    Stink eliminating mask and backup
    Rubber gloves
    Dirty diaper removing device (tongs)
    Disposable diaper bags
    Changing pad
    Clean diaper and wipes readily available

    Diaper Changing:
    Put on your goggles, mask and rubber gloves
    Place baby on changing pad
    Distract baby with pacifier or toy
    Unfasten tabs on diaper – open diaper
    If diaper is “loaded” you may want to put on clothespin like device as a backup under your mask
    Quickly wipe baby’s butt (always from front to back)
    You may want to remove soiled diaper from under baby’s butt at this point – you decide
    This is where it gets tricky-(you need to move fast, as babies are known to squirt) quickly get the dirty diaper into the disposable bag and immediately place clean diaper (tab side under) beneath baby’s butt.
    Apply Powder
    Remove all of your protective gear and clean yourself up with anti-bacterial handwash.
    Give baby hugs and kisses, and then pat yourself on the back

    Good luck!

  • 8. retta519  |  June 3, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Please stop sending me your link. I’m not interested in posting it. Thanks

  • 9. Debbie C.  |  October 24, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I’ve been looking everywhere for instructions on how to make one of these belts and yours by far is the very best.

  • 10. retta519  |  October 24, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

